Staff & Governors

Mr I. Wicks, BEng (Hons) (Exeter), PGCE

Deputy Head
Mr A. Chandler, BA, HDE (Natal), MA Ed (O.U.) – Maths

Director of Pastoral Care
Mr G. Brown, Cert. DT, Cert. ICT (Homerton, Cambridge) –  DT, ICT

Teaching Staff:
Mrs J. Barber, BA (Hons) (Newcastle); PGCE (Northumbria) – Art, 6th Form Tutor
Mr J. P. Bland, Cert. Ed. Further Professional Studies (Dunelm) – Boys Games
Miss C. Batty, BA (Hons) (York)  – 1st Form Teacher
Miss K. Debil, BA (Hons), Cert.Ed. IPGCE (Bucks) – 3rd Form Tutor, French, Girls’ Games
Miss M. Ewing, MA (Durham) – Head of Girls’ Games
Mrs R. Faulkner-Walford, BEd (Hons) (Manchester) – Boarding Housemistress, English, 4th Form Tutor
Mrs A. Field, BA (Hons) (Dunelm), PGCE (Northumbria) – Maths, Girls’ Games
Mr M. Headdock, BA (Hons) (Dunelm), MA (Leeds) –  5th Form Tutor, History, Rowing
Mrs A. Jenkinson, BA QTS (Hons) (Lancaster) – 2nd Form Tutor
Mr J. Jenkinson, BA (Hons) (Northumbria) – Head of Boys’ Games
Mr D. Penny, BSc (Hons) (Lancaster), PGCE (Sunderland) – 5th Form Tutor, Science
Mrs M. Richardson, English (Maternity cover)
Mr G. Sanderson, Year 4 Form Tutor (Maternity cover)
Mr J.P. Smith, BA (Hons) (Liverpool), PGCE (Dunelm) – 3rd Form Tutor, Geography, Boys’ Games
Miss K. Weeks, BA (Hons) (Warwick) – Latin
Mrs L. Wilkinson, BA (Hons) (York), MA (York) GTP & TTP (Cleveland) – 6th Form Tutor, English
Pre-Prep Teaching Staff:

Miss A. Maw, BA (Hons) (Northumbria) – Form Teacher Silver
Miss N. Robinson, BA (Hons) (Dunelm) – Form Teacher Purple
Dr J. Wilson, BSc (Hons) (Ulster), PhD (Queen’s Belfast), PGCE (Dunelm) – Head of Pre-Prep and EYFS, Form Teacher Gold

Special Needs
Mrs B. Dunn, BA (Hons) (Newcastle), PGCE (Newcastle), ACollT, SpLD

Teaching Assistants:
Miss L. Blackbird, Fd Degree (Leeds Metropolitan) – Learning Support Assistant
Mrs P. Davey, TA Level 3
Mrs P. Dugdale, NNED, Cert SpLD
Miss C. Dunn, TA Level 2, Early Years Level 3
Mrs K. Greathead, TA Level 3
Mrs J. Hebblethwaite, TA Level 4
Mrs V. Hooper, BA (Hons) (Manchester) – Learning Support Assistant
Mrs L. Nichols, TA Level 4, Cert. EYFS


Mrs D.E. Appleton – Registrar / Music Department Administrator
Mr M.F. Carling, ACIB – Bursar
Mrs J.M. Finch BA (Hons), MSc – School Administrator
Ms C. Hole-Reddock – Receptionist
Mrs C. Wright – P.A. to the Headmaster


Catering Manager:
Mrs C Nicholson

Campus Manager:
Mr S. Kirby

Boarding House Staff:
Mrs R. Faulkner-Walford, BEd (Hons) (Manchester) – Housemistress
Mr J. Jenkinson, BA (Hons) (Northumbria)
Mrs S. Round – Housemother
Mrs D. Storey – Housemother
Mrs M. Walker – Housemother
Miss B. Clarke – Gap Assistant in the Boarding House
Mr H. Millican – Gap Assistant in the Boarding House

Directors of Music
Mrs C. Crinson – Instrumental and Pre-Prep
Mr S. Lee – Academic and Choral


Ms V. Bojkova
Mrs J. Kennard
Mr D. Ratnanayagam
Mrs J. Woodward

Mr R. Crinson    Clarinet, Oboe, Bassoon, Saxophone, Bass Clarinet
Mrs C. Crinson     Flute, Recorder
Mr A. Storey     Trumpet, Cornet, Horn, Trombone, Tuba

Ms V. Bojkova     Harp
Mrs R. Barton-Gray     Cello, Double Bass
Ms. S. Innes     Violin, Viola
Mrs C. Newitt     Violin
Mr R. Woods     Guitar

Mrs M. Wright

Music Theory & Practical Musicianship
Mrs C. Crinson
Mr D. Ratnanayagam

Mr D. Cook


Master of The Choristers & Organist
Mr D. Cook

Sub Organist
Mr J. Beech

Senior Organ Scholar
Miss I. Morgan

Junior Organ Scholar
Mr O. Morrell

The Very Revd Andrew Tremlett – Dean of Durham, Chairman (Appointed 2016)
The Revd Canon Michael Hampel – Custos (Appointed 2018)
The Venerable Michael Everitt (Appointed 2019)
Canon Andrew Thurston – Chairman of F&GP Committee (Appointed 2019)
The Revd Canon Sophie Jelley (Appointed 2015)
Canon Cathy Barnes (Appointed 2015)
The Revd Canon Professor Simon Oliver (Appointed 2015)
The Revd Canon Charlie Allen (Appointed 2018)
Canon Simon Wood (Appointed 2018)

Mr Paul Chandler (Appointed 2005)
The Revd Canon Sheila Bamber (Appointed 2010)
Dr Ann Anstee (Appointed 2014)
Mrs Lynne Renwick (Appointed 2018)
Ms Kate Fenwick (Appointed 2018)
Mr Peter Cook (Appointed 2018)

Clerk to the Governors
Amanda Anderson – Chapter Clerk (Appointed 2018)


Contact Details:

The Dean and Chairman of the Governors:         

The Very Revd Andrew Tremlett

The Deanery, The College, Durham City, DH1 3EH

Telephone number:   (0191) 374 4586
Email address:


The Chapter Clerk:

Amanda Anderson

The Chapter Clerk, The Chapter Office, Durham City, DH1 3EH

Telephone number: 0191 374 4064

Email address: